Friday, August 13, 2004


Also spelled  Azarbaijan , or  Azarbayjan , Persian  Azarbayjan,   geographic region that comprises the extreme northwestern portion of Iran. It is bounded on the north by the Aras River, which separates it from independent Azerbaijan and Armenia; on the east by the Iranian region of Gilan and the Caspian Sea; on the south by the Iranian regions of Zanjan and Kordestan; and on the west by Iraq and Turkey. Azerbaijan is about 40,000 square miles


Post a Comment

<< Home